Skip to main content


Applicants are expected to have earned a doctoral degree and to have a record of published research. CSF seeks to support the work of scholars who will further the study of American federalism. Scholars and faculty members from colleges, universities, and independent research institutions are welcome to apply.


The maximum amount of the grant will be $15,000 for a one-year period. Grants are payable to the applicant’s home institution.


  • March 15: for a June decision.
  • October 15: for a January decision.


Recipients must submit a mid-term report indicating major activities and the progress of work, spending completed to date, whether work is proceeding on schedule and in budget, likelihood of timely completion, expected publications, and proposed schedule or budget changes if any. All changes exceeding 10 percent of funding require prior approval. A final report is due within 60 days after the end date of the one-year grant cycle. The final report will include major findings, activities undertaken, monies spent, written products, and publication plans. Additional instructions will be provided with the grant notification award letter.

  • A narrative, not to exceed 1600 words, explaining the scope and significance of the subject matter
    to be researched, the research design, a work plan, and publication plan (including potential outlets).
  • Bibliography, not to exceed one page, of works cited and important works in the field.
  • A line-item budget showing the basis of calculation for each line (e.g., 10 books at $40 per book average = $400).
  • A recent C.V.
  • Two letters of recommendation.
  • Institutional certification, an authorized institutional signature from your institution’s grants officer certifying
    that your institution approves your proposed budget, that your research proposal complies with your institution’s
    rules and regulations, that your institution has the institutional facilities needed to conduct the proposed research, and
    indicating the institution’s willingness to receive and administer the grant.


Submit your application online by clicking on the red “APPLY” button below.  Inquiries should be sent via email to


All products generated with the use of CSF funding must acknowledge said funding as follows: Research for this work was conducted with support of a grant from the Center for the Study of Federalism.

Apply Now

Previous CSF Research Grants Awarded:

2023: Dr. Benedict S. Jimenez, Georgia State University, for research on “Assessing the Implementation of the America Rescue Plan Act: Views from the Ground” ($15,000).

2022: Dr. Samuel Workman, West Virginia University, for research on “Local Budgetary Dynamics: Extra Pie and Budgetary Tradeoffs” ($15,000).

2022: Dr. Janine Parry, University of Arkansas, for research on “State Party Monopolies Since the New Deal” ($13,749).

2022: Dr. Michael J. Nelson, Penn State University, for research on “Is the Culture War Exacerbating Brain Drain?” ($14,000).

2022: Melanie Fillmore, Boise State University, for dissertation research on “Collaborative Governance on Missing and Murdered Indigenous Persons in Idaho” ($4,090).

2021: Dr. Daniel E. Hall, Miami University, for research on “Same=Sex Marriage and Unsame Law: The United States Constitution in American Samoa” ($15,000).

2021: Dr. Shanna Rose, Claremont McKenna College, for research on “Federalism and the Minimum Wage” ($14,708).

2020: Dr. J. Wesley Leckrone, Widener University, for student research assistants to help develop database for “Federalism and Gubernatorial Agendas for CSF website content ($4,340).

2016: Dr. J. Wesley Leckrone, Widener University, for student research assistants to help develop CSF website content ($500).

2016: Dr. Andrew Karch, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, for research on “States as Stakeholders: Federalism and Policy Feedback Effects on Governmental Elites” ($14, 939).

2015: Dr. Eric Zeemering, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL for research on “Federalism, Borders, and Local Networks for Great Lakes Water Protection” ($12,668).

2014: Dr. John Kincaid, Lafayette College, Easton, PA, for 2014-15 sabbatical support ($50,619).

2014: Dr. Barbara Allen, Carlton College, Northfield, MN, for support of documentary film on the lives and works of Vincent and Elinor Ostrom ($11,000).

2013: Dr. Richard L. Cole, University of Texas, Arlington, for support of a graduate research assistant for survey research on teaching federalism ($5,000).